pfSense randomly drops internet

Hi all! I’m really new to pfSense and I’ve run into a bit of a problem. I’m running pfSense as a VM within proxmox. I set up everything last night and made the switch. Everything was working great… And then it wasn’t. Internet dropped but I had no problem with my internal Network. The dashboard was veeeeery slow to load, but when it did it still showed that it was receiving a WAN IP address. When I reboot the VM, it would show that it is not receiving a WAN IP address. If I reboot the cable modem, it will get a WAN IP address and will connect to the internet. Also, the dashboard will load much faster. Its done it three times now and I can’t figure out what seems to be causing this. I have no rules or extra servives…yet.

Thanks in advance for the help.

1 Like

Hi,

I will do my best to help as i have been using psense for a while now, small disclaimer mine is running on bare-metal so you may be running into quirks of running it in a vm.

That said i have also noticed that the front end on pfsense becomes lethargic when a DHCP interface is down, i think it has something to do with the fact that everything running pfsense is going on php for the most part so when its trying to bring up the interface again the webui takes a backseat.

as for the random droping of the internet since this in a vm and if you have not passed thru a pci-e nic for it to use you may need to go in and disable the hardware offloading

I saw the tip about disabling hardware offloading when I initially set it up. The webGUI was fast before and after disabling it. I don’t believe I passed it through, just assigned the network interfaces per Netgates own documentation.
https://www.netgate.com/docs/pfsense/virtualization/virtualizing-pfsense-with-proxmox.html

I feel like it’s some kind of DHCP issue as it only happens after about 4-5 hours and will resolve after resetting the cable modem.