IT as a Side Hustle

Anyone doing IT as a side hustle? I’m referring to doing it as an official business, not just a few one-offs here and there. I work full time in IT and my bosses started another business and I’m a consultant with that business. I’m considering taking on other clients. With time being a consideration I’m thinking the MSP route would be ideal.

I’d like to get other people’s thoughts.

1 Like

My question is, are you going to be the one managing those clients?
I run a technology business and with the few clients I have gained, my schedule can book up pretty quick and become overwhelming. I’m not sure how well it would work with having another full-time job.

It would be mainly me at first, but with this other business I already have a guy that could help me out on an as needed basis. My current job allows me some flexibility as I’m salaried. I get paid to do the job, not fill a seat between Xam and Xpm. And I get off fairly early almost every day because I come in early, so being on-site at a client during normal business hours would be possible on a daily basis.

Oh no. I have my hands full with my full time IT hustle.
If I would do some side hustle it would not be in IT at all.

I work 40 h/week in my main IT job and 7 h/month in my second IT job. These 7 hours are not regular and more on an on-demand basis. From experience I can say that the demand always arises in inconvenient situations.

If you have someone close to your skills to fill in when you are at your main job, go for it. As a one-man-show I would be worried about being able to satisfy the customer.

1 Like

Side LLC here for the last 12+ years. It can be done. Be up front with your availability and get to know these companies. If you’re nearly on a friendship level not only will they not be looking to get rid of you but they’ll be more flexible. Keep the service you provide at a high level and you’ll most likely be golden.