Home network set up

Hey guys,
I just moved into a newer apartment and it has a lot of Ethernet ports around the place that I’d like to use with a switch. They all feed into a conduit (picture attached) but it seems like the Ethernet cables are stripped and then placed into that grey plastic piece.

Not sure what I would need to get these cables back into regular jacks or what the original purpose of that plastic piece is. I’m pretty new to this so I thought this would be a good first project. Would appreciate any tips!

That appears to be a phone block, make sure the cable itself is acutally CAT5e.

Hm there are only ethernet jacks in the apartment, no phone ones. Unless they sometimes can be the same port, I always thought they were smaller though.

You can plug RJ11 and RJ14 phone plugs into an RJ45 jack. That is wired up for use with an analog or digital phone system, not for IP traffic. You would have to re-terminate the ends in the box and cut the cable back to where you still have good twist before terminating to make that work for ethernet. Also, that cable could be cat3 or very old cat5 (no “e”) cable as well. You’d need to look at the writing on the sheath to see what category it is.

If it’s Cat3, forget it. If it’s old Cat5, you can carry up to 100Mb on it. Cat5e and higher can do gigabit.

Looking at the image closer, that cable is at least cat5, probably cat5e. It is wired up for phones (see how all the blue wires are connected?) but there is enough cable there that you could easily reterminate in a small patch panel or just surface mount boxes if there aren’t that many cables.

Keep in mind that you would also need to have your switch located here since that’s where all the cables come together.

Hey thanks! I didn’t actually know phones sometimes go through RJ45. I shouldn’t have to reterminate the wall jacks right? Just the ones in this box for the ends that I want to use?