Can NAS device access the Internet without my permission?

I’m new to NAS and have joined these forums in hopes of understanding what—to me—is a very disturbing aspect of my NAS device’s operation. Here’s my situation:

I set up my new Synology DS218 as a shared storage device on my home LAN … and disabled every setting I could see that would allow it to communicate with the outside (of my LAN) world. I thought it was “secured … locked down … private” … however you want to describe that.

But lo’ and behold, the first time I logged onto the DS218 from my browser (using the static IP I had entered) and viewed the help pages, the device apparently went to the Internet and downloaded content from some website. Just to be clear, it did not redirect my browser to a Synology webpage or anything like that. The browser url pointed to the static IP address the entire time. I immediately changed the help source to local.

Upon going to the Synology site to investigate, I happened upon this line from their release note for DMS v7.0:
“Added the ability to automatically install important DSM and package updates.”

Is this possible? IOW, do I now have a rogue Linux PC communicating through my LAN and broadband to the Internet? I certainly don’t want that. Is there a way to prevent—in a wholesale manner—ANY such communications?

Can someone help me understand what I’m seeing and concluding? … or point me to some relevant documentation?

Thanks in advance for any help.

1 Like

If the network it’s on has an internet connection it can get out. Also Synology has a feature called QuickConnect that can also provide outside access to the NAS.
If you want it locked down and still locally available do it via your firewall by blocking all traffic to non internal IPs.

Thanks for your response.

Yes, I know about QuickConnect … and have disabled every aspect of it that I can find.