Zoneminder and FreeNAS

Wanted to bring this topic here because I’m a newb and IMO the ixsystems forum seems geared more for those who have a lot of experience.

I installed the Zoneminder plugin (isystems official mind you) and got things setup, verified the zmNinja app via their windows app etc but got to wondering. With the limited FreeNAS and ZFS knowledge I have, I did wonder isn’t it really intensive to be writing these video files? Upon physical inspection my blinky lights are extra EXTRA blinky. Googled and some ixsystems threads came up, opinion is to setup TMPFS

The guide seems to deviate into opinions, different ways to do it, some worked, some didn’t. In kind Lawrence fashion, what is TMPFS, why?, and how should it be done in regards to running the Zoneminder jail?

Sorry, I have never used Zoneminder or TMPFS hopefully someone else in the forums here has.

1 Like

I have been using Zoneminder for about 6 months now and I am running a raidz2 on a 24 thread, 64GB machine and I see minimal impact on all resources. I only have 1 camera but it’s recording at 4K. You will see disk activity for sure because it’s consistently writing to disk for every frame per second. I think the biggest question is are you seeing a performance decrease since you got your Zoneminder up and working?

Every zoneminder server i installed is using the HDD all the time wile recording.

I couldn t make the freenas oficial ZM plugin work with more than 4 cameras. I couldnt figure it out why.
I end up installing ubuntu 20.04, and this docker container: https://hub.docker.com/r/dlandon/zoneminder/

Snap, youtube vid idea haha