Windows Admin Center?

Anyone using Windows Admin Center to manage Windows servers? Currently running on a Server 2019 VM.

I’m just getting started with it, I have been using a little 4 core computer with RSAT and hoping to replace it with a Linux OS to have a little overhead back. WAC seems like it should do everything I need until it gets to the point where I need to RDP into a server, but common tasks seem doable.

Any pitfalls I should lookout for? Going to be all Server 2022 when I’m done, and maybe a bunch of Win10 workstations if it seems like it will save me time or footsteps for some common things.

No, been using Azure and MECM, but this looks interesting.

I’m having consistent connection issues between member servers on the same subnet as the WAC server, but desktops seem to work pretty well. I’m on day 2 of trying to see if this is valuable. My goal is to get rid of the little computer I have running Win10 and RSAT, convert that to a light weight Linux and get the same things done. Still going to need to RDP once in a while until more extensions get created. I haven’t put my DC on this yet, kind of scared of messing it up right now, I have about 3 more weeks until I can move it to a VM and be a little more relaxed. Some of the stuff I did a month ago didn’t work out correctly and kind of bit me a little bit. Undid that stuff and just trying to get through the rest of the semester.

There are a lot of missing extensions and things like DHCP and DNS are still in “preview” status.

If you own Dell or HP servers their are extensions made to get into the BMC on the hardware, not finding anything for Supermicro IPMI yet.

WAC has promise, but I’m not sure it is all the way there yet. I think more work can get done through Server Manager right now (or other tools). I think WAC is meant for little places like my system that can’t justify things like Endpoint Manager (or SCCM).