Which Switch and Why

I am looking for some guidance and confidence.

I work for a medium healthcare facility that has 2 locations and 180 staff. In total, we have 300 PCs and Printers. The network was installed years ago with only a gig backbone. Aruba switches only have SFP, not SFP+.

I am upgrading by installing fiber to all the IDFs, replacing the switches with SFP+, to be running 10g backbone. I am looking at the unify switches and trying to decide if I should go with the Pro or the Enterprise switches. I have no experience with the unify switches and because we are in healthcare, I cannot have downtime.

Our network is pretty simple very few VLANs with some routing so I will need to have Layer 3 switching.

From what I can read I do not see a big difference between Pro and Enterprise. Pro can use the cloud key so I can monitor and program the network remotely where enterprise seems to be more traditionally managed.

so the question is should I be looking at Pro or Enterprise, and is one or the other more stable?

Thanks,

Todd

I don’t know exactly what models you are looking for but the UniFi / Network / Switching – Ubiquiti Inc. line of switches all can use the Cloudkey or a self hosted controller.

I wouldn’t recommend doing L3 switching since firewalls today are more than capable of handling the routing with the benefit of doing packet inspection. You should design your network where all the default interfaces are running on a FW so you can better secure your systems.

This should make things easier for selecting a switch since all you need is L2 capability. Save your spending for the better firewall and services.

1 Like

You might want to also consider switches from these guys https://www.fs.com I’ve always liked the look of them.

I guess I was not as clear as I should have been. The switches that I am looking at are UniFi:

Switch Pro 48 PoE - SKU: USW-Pro-48-PoE
VS
EdgeSwitch PoE+ 48 (750W) - SKU: ES-48-750W