What's bad about this setup?

The following setup is for home network. It’s just a theoretical one, a case study I create myself for my (near) future home network upgrade. I’m a noob in term of networking, but I have some amount of knowledge in this field due to my background in software engineering.
For now, I will not go into detail of my goals and reasons for the setup, but in general, I want it to be as secure/private as possible, and devices/clients must be accessible to each other with some exception mentioned in the picture.
I intentionally give vague information to ask the following question. In your view, even without knowing the detail of the network and just by looking at the diagram, what can make you scream something like “God, please don’t, just don’t” right away? To me, it’s single point of failure and somewhat flat, which are generally acceptable for a home network I think.

I did not google the model numbers but make sure all the switches you are using support VLAN’s

1 Like

Thanks for the response Tom, they all support VLAN. Do you have any other comments on this conceptual design?

Not that it is wrong necessarily, but why 3 switches? unless there are logistical reasons, such as not all your wired connections terminating at the same spot.

Technically we can reduce back to only 1 switch, but for my location, the best I can get is 16 port POE+ so I need 2 L2 “smart” switches as in the picture (16+16). The original idea is to connect both of them directly to pfSense. However, I want the devices on 2 switches able to connect to each other. I’m not sure if pfSense can perform that kind of routing, so I put another L3 switch there (with question mark). If possible, I want to take out that L3 to reduce the cost.

If your IPTV is multicast based make sure you have IGMP support on your switches. Enable snooping for your IPTV VLAN and disable immediate leave.