VLANs not working properly in pFSense

I am a noob when it comes to networking stuff but I try to learn from everything.

I got pFSense up and running and decided to create some VLANs for Guests and IOT devices. I setup the rules following the lawrence systems guide but the problem is anything connected to these VLANs can get to some websites and apps, but not others. I have 2 switches and an AP, but I found it does the same thing on the core switch. I can ping the sites from the gateways of the VLANs, but the devices themselves can’t connect to the sites.

I have 2 rules for the guest, one wide open for testing and the other to block the LAN. I have the same thing for the IOT VLAN as well right now and they both have the same issue.

Are the switches configured to support the VLAN and what is the commonality between what they can and can not get to?

I have the switches setup to support it. Here is a picture of how its setup in the GUI.

Screenshot 2021-03-17 101353

VLAN 60 is Guest and 80 is IOT. I have the two other VLANs but haven’t tested them yet. The untagged port is so I could set the PVID for testing.

Guest and IOT are set to only allow the internet. Nothing else. Sites like Youtube and Google work fine, but other streaming sites like Hulu and Netflix don’t work at all. They just timeout. Same with Duckduckgo.

The other switch can see the VLANs as well as the AP. On Wifi I was having the issue originally but decided to trace back to the first switch and the issue is happening there too.

I appreciate the help.

Try removing the ports (except 1) from vlan1 and see if it works. It doesn’t look right to me, you might benefit from inspecting the switch documentation of setting up vlans, it probably requires that you follow a sequence in assigning the ports and then taking it off the default.

Thanks for the suggestion. I will take a look at the documentation for the switch after work and will post back here with the results.