Virtualized pfsense - how does ip of host and VM relate?

Hello All.
I’m switching my current ISP so that I can go from a lousy 50Mbit to 600Mbit speed (working from home on 50Mbit just doesn’t cut it). With the upgrade in internet speed I decided to get into the whole homelabing business - get a proper rack, some server equipment, install xcp-ng, virtualize pfsense, split my network into a couple of vlans etc.

Sadly, I’m a complete novice when it comes to networking and virualizing, so I will definitely have a lot of basic questions (that’s the main reason to having a home lab - to learn as I go).

The first thing I would like to ask is this:
During the instalation of xcp-ng I am prompted to specify a static IP or use DHCP (machine is a Dell R210II with additional 4-port intel nic). Since this xcp-ng instance will be running only pfsense and xen-orchestra and will be the router for my whole LAN it seems obvious to me that xcp-ng should have a static IP. But how does the IP set for xcp-ng relate to the IP adress of the virtualized Pfsense that will be installed later? I know that I need one port on the NIC for WAN and another for LAN and that I will need to somehow map those physical ports to the virtualized pfsense machine (bridging is the correct term to use here i guess?) , but if I assign - for example 192.168.1.254 to xcp-ng, will pfsense also be available on the same address but just on a different port? Or Will I need to assign an additional IP address to pfsense later and xcp-ng will be accessible on 192.168.1.254 and pfsense on whatever other IP address I set?

Also - if additional info is needed, to my best knowledge I will be getting a fiber connection to the house, which will be terminated with a GPON, from which i will have a standard RJ-45 connection to the router (above described xcp-ng box). The ISP uses 3 separate vlans on their side for providing internet, tv and phone and I will be getting a static public ip from them