Untangle (SD-wan) vs pfSense vs else for Secure, Distributed Startup?

Hi LTS Forums,

This is my first post. I’m very thankful to Tom for all the YT videos which help us IT newbies tremendously. I am no IT professional but I have been using computers all my life (I’m 29).

As a small business startup founder, I need to set up an IT infrastructure that is scalable, secure, and ideally open source/not unnecessarily proprietary. I want to comply with CMMS security guidelines for the DoD because we are not yet sure what kind of subcontracting we will be doing. As far as I can tell they are mostly standard, straightforward security precautions but I will post back if anyone is interested to know specifics. If necessary, we will segment the network and only permit in-office personnel to access networks and certain server storage.

For the router, I got a Protectli switch and am debating between pfSense and Untangle.pfSense’s relatively outdated interface, menu complexity, and subpar reporting turns me towards Untangle somewhat. If we were to go the Untangle route, is SD-Wan necessary for full security and monitoring/reporting of remote workers? I am confused as to if/why that would be necessary to buy, and what the pfSense alternative would be for strong remote working access controls and monitoring.

Alternatively, when/at what scale might things like RouterOS, Tomato, or Zabbix network monitoring be recommended.

Any advice is much appreciated!

SD-WAN is a loaded marketing term, with many people using it to mean different things. The main two are:

1. Automatically choosing between multiple WAN interfaces based on which one has lower packet loss and jitter (important for VOIP and video calls) and/or more advanced assignment of data across multiple WANs. The point of this is to allow a business to use commodity internet connections, instead of more expensive connections with SLAs.