UniFi, Let's Encrypt, pfsense and Ubuntu Server 20.04

UniFi Controller, Let’s Encrypt and pfsense Ubuntu Server 20.04:

I’m looking to secure my self hosted UniFi Controller running on a Ubuntu Server 20.04.
I believe I need ports 80 and 443 opened in pfsense for this to happen.

Help! I’m a newbie so I’ll be needing some direction and/or very clear instructions and/or videos to make this happen from you guys or gal.:wink:

I’ve been up all night and day and haven’t been able to get it done.

I have a domain name from godaddy already and that’s all I’ve been able to setup right.

There’s loads of videos on youtube on setting up Pfsense, I’d start there and get your switch configured shouldn’t be difficult.

I’ve watched many of the YouTube vids and they’re either old and don’t apply anymore with the new Ubuntu server 20.04, pfsense and UniFi, so their setup come up short with me. I frustrated and tired been trying for two days. This stuff doesn’t come natural with me, but give me a Mercedes or BMW engine to rebuild I’m your man.:wink:

Though I have a domain name with godaddy it’s not resolving to my server address, I thought I had that at least configured right but no.

I have a video on using HA Proxy for the LE certificate https://youtu.be/gVOEdt-BHDY
but last I checked there were some issue with Ubuntu 20 and UniFi because of some MongoDB version issues. I use Debian for my UniFi servers.

I have not tested it, but I did find this:
https://community.ui.com/questions/UniFi-Installation-Scripts-or-UniFi-Easy-Update-Script-or-UniFi-Lets-Encrypt-or-Ubuntu-16-04-18-04-/ccbc7530-dd61-40a7-82ec-22b17f027776

1 Like

Ok I got the server up and running with this script Tom thanks once again,but I’m having a problem I think with pfsense NAT and firewall rules I believe because my domain name isn’t resolving, I’ve made sure the A record is point to WAN, I;m suspecting it’s the opening of ports 80 and 443, I’ve never port forwarded before in pfsense. Don’t laugh.:wink: