UniFi Controller, why's it needed?

Hello,
I’m new to the networking scene and have been wanting to play around with creating a homelab for myself. I wanted to run the usual setup with Pfsense, a unifi switch, and a unifi AP. I’m a bit confused on a couple things though:

• Why is a controller required to use the switch? It must have at least a command line interface that the controller taps into?
  • Doesn’t Unifi switches and controllers have some Firewall capabilities that would make a basic setup not need Pfsense?
  • Why buy a Unifi switch that needs an extra controller instead of just any other managed switch?

Thank you for answering some nooby questions :slight_smile:
PS: Love the videos Lawrence if you see this

The Unifi line is Software Defined Networking (SDN). The controller is the single pane of glass to configure the SDN. If you’re not running a captive portal you only have to have the controller running to make configuration changes or update firmware. Unifi devices do have a command line, but I’m not sure if changes made there survive a reboot.

There are firewall settings in the controller, but you need a USG to use them. The switches are only Layer 2.

If you want to configure things on a per switch basis and use the command line, I would look at the Ubiquiti Edge line. You would still need the controller of the APs. So I personally don’t see any benefit.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Is there any particular reason people purchase Unifi switches and purchase a cloud key to manage them when pfsense is already doing their firewalling and can be configured to be accessed remotely? I’m just a bit confused about the appeal since other managed switches sometimes have a GUI of themselves that run on the switch.