Unifi Controller recognizing devices but not able to migrate

I just switched out my UDM for a pfSense box, and am running the controller in a VM.

I opened ports TCP 8080, UDP 10001, 3478, & 1900 as floating inbound rules (I tried bidirectional, still didn’t help)

The issues are:
a) I am having is my controller sees all of my devices, but it is saying they are all disconnected.
b) It does not see any new or reset devices to adopt (I bought 1 new WAP)

Troubleshooting:

• Reset one of be Beacons to see if I could adopt it. Unfortunately, now I can’t even see it.
  • Power cycled both switches (which also cycled the WAPs). No dice.
  • Put controller VM on same VLAN as UDM was. Still nothing.

If anyone has any advice and/or suggestions, please. I’m at a loss.

Thank you

I’m no pfsense expert but i hope a flowing rule docent open those things to the internet

I recently did this exact same thing where i removed the udm in favour of pfsense.
When i did it i had to hold in the reset button on the back (which i assume you mean you did when you say you reset one of them) and it almost instantly showed up.

i would recommend having the controller and access points on the same VLAN just to make it easier for yourself and to make it have a better chance of working.

If you did both of those things I’m not sure if there’s anymore i can give you other than double check everything with the VLAN. Make sure the switch and DHCP are set up correctly and the routing rule is in place.

Unless you are tying to manage these devices remotely then they should be on the same network as the controller. If you are opening up to remote management the only two ports needed are 8080 and 3478.

Good news and bad.

The good news is, as per your advice, putting the controller on the same VLAN as the devices worked in terms of being able to attempt to adopt.