Unbound Crashing on pfSense 2.5

Recently upgraded to pfSense 2.5. I’ve noticed that Unbound DNS keeps crashing and needs to be manually restarted via the webUI dashboard. I’m not sure what’s causing it but I do think it’s somehow related to pfBlocker.

I temporarily disabled the DNS aspect of pfBlocker and unbound appears to no longer crash. I checked the package manger and there are no updates available for pfBlocker (there was one sometime recently but I applied that after upgrading to pfSense 2.5

Anyone else experiencing issues with unbound on pfSense 2.5?

There are updates, but you need to ssh into your pfSense box and run this command…

pkg upgrade

I just did and have a list of updates that are not showing in the GUI under Package Manager. Notably: unbound: 1.13.0_2 → 1.13.1 [pfSense]

1 Like

Ah ok… thank you.

I will try this out in a few days.
Is this pkg upgrade command something I should be running frequently? I’ve never heard of it before. That being said, I’m no expert with pfSense.

(I am currently running badblocks on a new drive and doing so over an SSH connection from my old closet laptop (poor man’s KVM) and don’t want to risk any network issues dropping that SSH.
If you’re unfamiliar, badblocks is a burn-in process for new drives that takes about half a week and it only has about 1-2 days left)

As it turns out, it may be something we should be checking more often than we do. I try to run it once in a while and find updates that are not listed elsewhere.

1 Like

Ran pkg update followed by pkg upgrade an it didn’t give me any updates for unbound, but it did prompt me to update to pfBlocker v3.0.0_15 so I did so and it seems to have solved the issue (thus far anyway!)

Thanks for your pointers.

EDIT: