Ubiquiti - Unifi Layer 3 Switch (USW pro) configuration with Fortigate

Hi,

I am new in setting up Layer 3 routing in Unifi - I don’t have a cisco background either and am very familiar with Layer 2 routing in Unifi Switches. My Scenario is following:

I have a Fortigate firewall that I am trying to setup with USW Pro Switches

My Management LAN is 192.168.1.1 - (DHCP enabled from Fortinet Firewall) (Default Vlan)

Vlans:
192.168.2.1 - Layer 3 Switch is the default GW, DHCP managed from Switch (Vlan ID 2)
192.168.3.1 - Layer 3 Switch is the default GW, DHCP managed from Switch (Vlan ID 3)
192.168.4.1 - Layer 3 Switch is the default GW, DHCP managed from Switch (Vlan ID 4)
172.16.0.1 - Tagged Vlan (172) for Voice

I created interfaces with the same vlan tags on fortinet (GW 192.168.2.254, 3.254, 4.254) on the fortinet and have made static routes as well for the subnet 10.255.253.0 to route any traffic out of the vlan or internet from the switch to the firewall

My Issue:

1. Intervlan between vlans 2,3,4 work seamlessly. but not able to ping 192.168.1.1 network from any of the vlans
  2. able to ping firewall from each individual subnet - but internet traffic is not going through from the switch to the firewall. However i am able to ping 10.255.253.1 from any of the vlans

Appreciate the advise and guidance if anyone can provide. Thanks

1. Don’t create the VLANs on the Fortinet - delete 192.168.2.254, 3.254, 4.254.
  2. Look in your Unifi Controller’s list of networks for the “Inter-VLAN Routing” network. You need to add this VLAN to your fortinet, with the Fortinet using the first IP in the subnet.
  3. Create static routes for 192.168.2.0/24, 3.0/24, and 4.0/24 on the Fortinet pointing to the switch’s IP in the Inter-VLAN Routing network (I am not 100% sure how you verify this IP address - I know some people SSH into the switch and run a command to get all of its IP addresses)