Ubiquiti Camera System

I’ve been asked to price up a 5 camera security system. I want to give Ubiquiti products a try. This site currently has nothing but a computer that is wired to a color printer via a simple network. They are having an internet connection put in just for this so I’ll need a router, switch, etc. Is there any other equipment I need that is not displayed below? I have wiring, wall boxes, jacks, etc. It’s just the equipment I’m not 100% sure on at the moment.

TIA!

1 Like

Seems reasonable although I would consider using the SG-1100 pf-Sense appliance from Netgate. Makes remote logins via Open VPN easier to set up also creating a vlan for the cameras. The SG-1100 has more features and is very reasonable at $159.

2 Likes

If you’re going to have Unifi networking gear, you will need some way to run the controller. You could go with the Cloud Key Gen2 Plus which runs the video and controller.

Ok, I’m new to this system. What exactly does that do?

The controller configures the software defined networking, i.e. provision the switch and/or USG.

get the cloud gen 2 plus key, it allows you to setup and controll the unifi system, USG, Switch, and also gives you the new unifi protect, the nvr video solution that allows for about 20 cameras on that system, its new and still going but so far is nice, not as feature rich as the unifi video, but still worth a look, specially on the update path that they are on. Also the cost between the unifi cloud key gen 2 and the gen 2 plus is like 100 bucks more, and you can ditch the nvr in that case. Just make sure to read the differences between both, for example I think is still missing some of the motion recording features, but dont hold me to that I havent used it.

1 Like