TrueNAS Replication Task Newbie Questions

Dear Community, I recently successfully replicated some data from one TrueNAS system to another. While the task was successful, I am a beginner and have some questions about TrueNAS’ replication. I hope you can help me answer them. Thanks in advance!

Performance

My setup: I was replicating data from machine A (located in North America) to machine B (located in Europe). In other words, I was moving data across the Atlantic Ocean. Speed isn’t that important here, as this is my worst-case offsite backup with data I don’t need to access quickly in an emergency. Still, I wondered why I was only getting about 50Mbps consistently over several days (I was moving several terabytes of data).

The upload capacity of machine A is 250Mbps, while the download speed of machine B is 100-150Mbps. Both machines are quite powerful (modern AMD CPUs, fast drives, 1Gbps network, etc.). My pfSense routers at both sites were also not heavily loaded in terms of CPU, and no other traffic was present during the replication time. The site-to-site connection is through Tailscale, which can also transfer much more data.

1. Is 50Mbps realistic, as the transfer latency will eat up the rest of the speed?
  2. I assume that my bottlenecks should be the 100-150Mbps (double to triple speed missing) download speed of site B. Is this true?
  3. How can I increase my transfer speed?
  4. Are there any notable settings I should change in the replication task settings in terms of performance? What about transport (currently I have it set to SSH)?

Security

I first tried to connect my machines using the Admin Password method, which failed. Then I manually configured an SSH connection in the Backup Credentials section.

1. Is it possible to change the admin password after a successful connection?