TrueNAS Core on Dell Optiplex 5040: Intel I219-V NIC (em0) Unstable. How to Troubleshoot?

Hello,

I’m new to TrueNAS and I’ve got TrueNAS Core installed and running, and I’m working through the initial install, but ran into an issue. The Intel I219-V NIC on the motherboard (which is apparently only a PHY?) stopped working overnight, and as it was the only NIC the web GUI was bound to, I lost access to the box and had to do a hard reset.

I did some googling, and apparently this NIC is known to be unstable in FreeBSD 13, which TrueNAS Core 13 is (currently) based on. https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/intel-i219-v-adl-16-unusable-with-mtu-5360.88258/

FreeBSD 14 fixes this issue.

I did notice that TrueNAS Core is using the “em” driver (this is NIC “em0.”

This appears to be the right driver: em(4)

The em driver provides support for Gigabit Ethernet adapters connected
to I/O Controller Hub (ICH) and Platform Controller Hub (PCH) including
Intel 80003ES2LAN, 82562, 82566, 82567, 82577, 82578, 82579, i217,
i218, and i219.

I don’t really understand exactly what the bug is that causes the issue fixed by the MTU setting change. I set the NIC to MTU 9000 in the TrueNAS interface, so maybe that will fix it, but in case it happens again, is there somethiing else I need to check?

Intel has BSD drivers here, but I’m not sure if they’re newer than what’s in TrueNAS Core 13, and since it’s BSD, I’m not sure how to install them (I downloaded the drivers and didn’t see BSD install instructions, of course).
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/15187/intel-network-adapter-gigabit-base-driver-for-freebsd.html

Thanks!

There is not really any good way to load a different driver, the best solution is to replace that NIC with a supported one.

1 Like

As above,

Or use Truenas Scale which is based on linux and not BSD which may have better drivers

1 Like

Thanks!