TrueNAS Core Docker Virtualization and Privacy VPN Routing

I am new to TrueNAS and have been doing quite a bit of research to see if TrueNAS would be a good choice for me. First and foremost, I want a simple and reliable storage solution. I’m pretty sure that TureNAS is the perfect choice for that. However, after thinking about it a bit more, I would like to upgrade my simple file server to a media server.

Is it true that TrueNAS Core (Community Edition) can virtualize a Linux VM that can then be used for Docker? My plan was to install Portainer and use it to manage my applications.

I would like to use Jellyfin and a torrent application. However, I would like to use certain Docker applications only with a specific VPN. In addition to TrueNAS, I will be setting up pfSense. How can I connect a specific Docker container so that my pfSense VPN can redirect it for improved privacy?

I will fairly certainly only have one physical interface on my TrueNAS system.

If my idea isn’t sound a complete restructure of my planned setup is possible too. In the end I would like to run some docker applications with Portainer and route some of them over a VPN.

TrueNAS is not ideal to use as a virtualization platform and the challenge in using Docker apps is making sure you have the apps assigned an IP address so you can do policy routing for the VPN in pfsense.

What is the problem with the virtualization of TrueNAS? What alternative would be better? What better alternative could I use with Portainer? Can I route out a complete docker network?

TrueNAS virtualization very basic and has some issues with local IP on NIC cards. I don’t really use Docker, but Level1Techs does have a guide for setting it up.

I’ve setup portainer within an Ubuntu VM on TrueNAS Core. I know that part of the equation works OK.