Switch recommendation

I’ll start off saying Im far from a networking pro. I know nothing about CLI for networking. Im looking for a recommendation for a switch for our colo setup. We are going to run 7-8 servers all with idrac so we need a minimum 24 port switch. I’d really like a GUI based switch. We don’t really need anything fancy as far as switching. I need to go from our Sonicwall firewall to a switch that can connect to all of the servers. We are running a separate storage network via a Microtik 10gb sfp switch.

We are capped at 1gbps network connection so I dont really feel like going 10gb will really benefit us. Looking for a switch that is reliable. Im completely good with used hardware as most of our servers are. Any recommendations?

We use Ubiquiti at our business but Im concerned about reliability at the data center. If we buy used, we will likely buy 2 to have a backup. Seems like people like HPE Aruba equipment. Used Fortinet switches are very affordable but Im not sure about any GUI. Anyways, just looking for some recommendations. I feel overwhelmed reading and can’t make a decision :smiley:

If you already have UniFi then that is what I would recommend. No sense is having a mixed environment IMO.

I agree, I was just concerned about all of the comments on forums of people saying its just not ready for an enterprise setup. Their firmware has bugs on most releases. Random resets

I ran 2 of the 8 port 10G aggregate switches in production just fine handling critical data. As long as you have a spare then there is nothing to worry about. It’s as simple as swapping the bad switch with a new one and applying the old config.

When I bought into UniFi I really had high hopes it looked great was easy to use but I dont’ think it would scale well in data centers. Just personal opinion.

Plus the support is total crap!

Why not another Mikrotik?

1 Like