[Solved] Issues With XCP-NG and Virtual Firewall

Background

I’m brand new to XCP-NG and I’m having a couple of issues running a virtual firewall (Sophos Firewall with a home license in this case) on top of a new XCP-NG server I just set up. The hardware I’m running on is the Qotom Q20332G9-S10. Ethernet configuration is as follows:

• eth4 - LAN port that XCP-NG should pull an IP from, attaches to a Unifi switch
  • eth5 - WAN port, attaches to my ONT
  • eth6 - LAN port, attaches to my eero mesh WiFi
  • eth8 - XCP-NG management interface, attaches to the same switch as eth4
  • eth0-3 and eth7 - currently unused

I will list my two issues below. Any insight that can be given into either of them will be very much appreciated.

Issue No. 1:

I don’t know anything about Xen networking, but my understanding is that xebr5 is the bare-metal interface that eth5 gets mapped to. My issue is that both interfaces are pulling an IP from my ISP. eth5 pulling an IP isn’t concerning as this is the firewall’s WAN interface. xebr5 pulling an IP from my ISP is a problem, especially since the XCP-NG server is now accessible from the internet thanks to this issue.

Issue No. 2:

In order to even get the XCP-NG host running my virtual firewall to pull an IP address via DHCP, I had to attach a monitor and keyboard to use the dhclient command via the shell to manually refresh xebr8. This got the management interface to pull an IP, which showed up as expected on the host’s Status Display screen. The issue is that I cannot communicate with the host via this IP. I can’t ping to or from the host.

Note: I plan to set a static IP on the host at a later time. Don’t @ me.