Server specs for small clients allowing for HyperV

I’ve been doing small business support for around 10 years and am starting to expand my knowledge base to better support my clients. Back in the day, we would order a server with RAID5 and 3 hard drives and be done with it. Now, I’m starting to look into using Hyper V on new server purchases, so I can make use of having 2 VM’s instead of just one physical server. Thoughts and questions I have are as follows:

Let’s assume I’m purchasing a new Dell PowerEdge T340 or T440. Let’s also assume that most of my small business clients have 10-20 users, and storage could be around 1-2TB. Am I considering 1 CPU or 2? Is 32GB RAM plenty? How many cores should I be looking at? Should one of my VM’s be a DC only and the other a file server? Both shouldn’t be DC’s on the same host, right? How much resources does the host need assuming I install desktop experience? Am I sticking with RAID5, but using SSD’s instead or going with RAID6 or 10?

I’ve already decided that the iDrac Enterprise license is well worth the cost.

Anyway, I’ve got several server purchases and swaps coming up in the next several months and I’m looking to standardize many of these questions.

Thanks.

Brian
We have probably over 50 servers that we support that fall under this circumstance. Our normal configuration if we know the company is highly unlikely to expand past Hyper-V VMs is the T330. Single 8 core processor, 32G Ram. RAID1 M2 Boot, RAID10 with 2TB SAS 7200 drives for data and a single 4TB drive for Veeam backup and recovery repository. DO NOT do RAID5 or RAID6. performance is crap and rebuild time is also stupid long on a failure. Not worth the small bit of additional storage. Speed with this configuration is very good. This is a most bang for your buck configuration.