Restoring my resolv.conf file after stopping WireGuard and configuration sanity check

Hello,

After spending 4+ days trying to fix weird issues in a TrueNAS Jail with OpenVPN and Private Internet Access (PIA) I’ve decided to throw in the towel.

For those interested, I’ve been trying to get it fixed with help on the TrueNAS forums with no succes. After some discussions on various Discord servers I’ve come to the conclusion that the problem must be with PIA as I’m not the only one experiencing this.

Configuration sanity check

I decided to switch to Mullvad VPN service with WireGuard and after doing so all my issues have disappeared. Unfortunately I have very little fundamental knowledge of networking and would like to know if I’ve done things right.

I have Transmission running in a TrueNAS Jail and I want to make sure all external Transmission traffic is going over the VPN connection while still being able to reach the Transmission Web UI on my LAN. This seems to be working as intended right now. I’ve followed this guide and I’m using service wireguard start/stop to start and stop the service. I’ve also configured /etc/rc.conf to start it automatically.

This is my WireGuard configuration file which I got from Mullvad:

[Interface]
PrivateKey = <private_key>
Address = 10.xxx.xxx.xxx/32
DNS = 193.xxx.xxx.xxx

[Peer]
PublicKey = <public_key>
AllowedIPs = 0.0.0.0/0
Endpoint = 193.xxx.xxx.xxx:xxxxx

These are my IPFW rules to make sure that all external traffic that doesn’t go through the VPN gets blocked but internal traffic is allowed for the user Transmission is running under:

# Set rules command prefix
cmd="ipfw -q add"
vpn="wg0"
user="<transmission_user>"
localLan="192.168.178.0/24"

# Flush out the list before we begin
ipfw -q -f flush

# Allow all local traffic on the loopback interface
${cmd} 00001 allow all from any to any via lo0

# Allow any connection to/from VPN interface
${cmd} 00010 allow all from any to any via ${vpn}