(request) vlan management policy server video

Hello, I first heard about Tommy Lawrence’s videos sometime after the COVID-19 pandemic began so I am fairly new here. Since then I have switched from my off the wall consumer router to Pfsense and have even bought a Truenas Mini X+ from your suggestions. I also have a managed switch.

I am a newbie building a homelab, I have everything setup and working fine but one thing that I’ve always wanted to get setup is a VLAN Management Policy Server. Supposedly you can do this with Pfsense w/ FreeRadius-3 package. According to documentation to my switch is support dynamic vlans and I’d like to learn how to set this up in Pfsense + FreeRadius3. Can you please make a video on how to set this up on Pfsense + freeradius3?

Thanks and that video is not likely to happen soon, but might eventually.

I’d recommend trying to understand how to use Certificates with say OpenVPN connections. Then use FreeRADIUS with your Access Point for 802.1x. Then combine the two.

If you have your homelab you can give it a go.

Not that I am complaining but can I ask why? Is it really complicated to do? Is it a network security issue? I have been searching around and I can’t find any information on how to do it. I only ask because if it is something that is too difficult or too risky to do maybe I should just stop trying to do it. If it is that you’re just too swamped with other projects then that is fine.

Again I’m not complaining and I want to thank you for the content that you’ve put out so far. I have been subscribed/watching your YouTube channel since this pandemic started, it has given me a new hobby while I’ve been trapped at home with everything practically shut down.

Thanks, learning how to do each of those things have been near the top of my list. So if I just combine those two things I’ll be golden? That is good to know that I can kill three birds with 2 stones.