Questions about site to site VPNs vs reverse SSH tunnels

Hello, I am not really a network engineer or sysadmin, but still managing most of the servers and network equipment at the small company I work at. We currently have 30-40 customers (some abroad) where each customer has one or a few servers that we own that most often are located on the customer network or in some cases uses a 4G network connection which we provide. We need access to these servers and until now we’ve used reverse SSH tunnels to gain access. So many of our servers are behind a customer firewall which only allows outgoing traffic towards one central SSH server which is accessible by us.

As we are expanding (hopefully increase our remote sites by a couple of times in the near future) we would like to transition to a more stable solution like VPN so that we don’t have to create tunnels all over the place to get the work done. The goal is to have an easy way to directly access the individual servers from a central network. The sites don’t need access to each other.

So to my questions; what is the preferred way to connect sites like these together, site to site VPNs with IPSec or OpenVPN? Stay with the current reverse SSH tunneling system? Which way is best for scalability? I guess that we need to deploy firewalls at each site, any recommendations?

We currently use a WatchGuard T30 firewall in front of the central SSH server which can manage up to 40 IPSec site to site VPNs so we probably have to upgrade that one as well if we’re going with the VPN route.

Thanks

Maintaining that many VPN’s might cause a some issues as your company scales up these deployments. There are solutions such as Zerotier that might work better for this https://youtu.be/Bl_Vau8wtgc

1 Like