Putting a head on the headless

I’m a noob to type 1 hypervisors. I have two machines at home. I’m investigating the idea of converting one to be an XCP-ng server, however, the household frequently needs two computers available. Is there any way to use the same keyboard, mouse, and monitor that is connected to the XCP-ng server and provide a “head” to one of the many running VMs on that server?

Meaning, can I interact with a single VM directly at the console of the XCP-ng server?

I fully recognize that this is an atypical use case but I’m curious to know if there is a solution for this. It seems that if XCP-ng had a Display/Window Manager extension then such a thing could be possible.

Thoughts?

You would have to pass through an additional GPU and a PCI USB card to one of the VMs… Should be doable, though, if it’s worth it.

I know with Proxmox you can add x-windows and a desktop environment, in theory ! It’s built on debian so I can see that it should be possible, but I can imagine the moment you update things can easily go wrong. I’ve never done this, way too much hassle. Just buy something cheap off ebay if you need a 2nd PC.

Alternatively you could just install a linux desktop on one of the drives (or a partition of one of the drives) and then use any one of the various VM/Container options available to host your existing services. You can do everything xcp-ng is doing, just without the pretty gui. I suppose you could run xcp-ng in one of those VM’s if you really wanted that interface.

I have this same setup (only use containers now) with my only workstation and it runs great. Saves some power and streamlines everything. Just give it enough ram and use other disks for VMs and you won’t even know the VM/Containers are running in the background.

With all that said, the GPU pass through is the easiest route if that is available.

@neogrid I hear you. It’s likely the “best” answer but I want to see if I can get a single machine solution working.