Problem in Connecting PC to Server across Different Subnet via VPN

Hello All,

I wish to connect iMac to an HTTPS server on different subnet and both networks are configured via different VPN services. However, with the rule below, I just can’t establish the connection.

In addition, the existing rules on LAN (igb1) are:

1. LAN devices (iMac connected) can go everywhere without restrictions;
  2. Internet connection goes through LANVPN;
  3. Kill switch is enabled as floating rule if VPN is down.

The existing rules on SERVER (igb2) are:

1. All devices can’t go to LAN network;
  2. All devices can’t go to APWIFI network;
  3. Internet connection goes through SERVERVPN;
  4. Kill switch is enabled as floating rule if VPN is down.

It is greatly appreciated if anyone can help me diagnose the problem. I feel this is such an easy setup but I am very new to pfSense and just can’t figure this out …

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Eric

If the device is starting from LAN then there needs to be a LAN to allow going to LANVPN.

1 Like

Hi Eric,
Can you reach the endpoint from the firewall itself?

SSH into pfSense and issue:
curl https://192.168.2.2

Thanks Tom and sorry to keep on banging on this setup again …

The existing rule for my LAN network is wide open, I would imagine this will allow my iMac to go everywhere.

Unfortunately, this still doesn’t work … I think it is because of virtual address that is introduced by VPN after doing some research.

Would you mind to provide some step-by-step instructions on how the communication can be established? Thank you so much.

Cheers,
Eric

Thanks chernobyl.

I have tried it and it doesn’t work … I also tried to use Ping under Diagnostics on pfSense and I can only ping the server via SERVER interface. I can’t ping the server via any of the VPN interfaces even after introducing firewall rules to pass the traffic …