Preventing double NAT but keeping devices separate

Hey everyone,

I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to networking so excuse my ignorance here. I’m looking at connecting two buildings but I would like to keep each building have their own separate subnet. However in this example, building 2 will be double NAT’d which I’d like to avoid. What is the recommended setup for something like this?

Here’s a picture I made to try and help explain, thanks guys.

I would like the IP subnets to be separated like this, but I do not want to have building 2 double NAT’d which it would be with this wiring. Any suggestions on what the best practice for a type of deployment like this is?

If the router in building 1 has 3 full routed (layer 3) interfaces, you can use one for internet with NAT masquerading. Then one for building one LAN (I wouldn’t use 192.168.2.1, use something less used. If you still want to use 192.168, use something high, like 192.168.213.1 and 192.168.214.1 for the two buildings).

To keep broadcast from building 2 from using bandwidth on the P2P radio link, use a second router in building 2 and configure it without NAT.

For example

Building 1 RTR1
eht0 ip dhcp from ISP (configured with NAT masquerade)
eth1 ip 192.168.213.1/24 for building 1 LAN
eth2 ip 192.168.215.1/24 for building to building transit network
static route to 192.168.214.0/24 via 192.168.215.2

Building 2 RTR2
eth0 ip 192.168.215.2/24 (link to building 1)
eth1 ip 192.168.214.1/24 for building 2 LAN
default gateway 192.168.215.1 (RTR1 eth2)

RTR1 and RTR2 dont’ have to be the same, i.e. you could use pfsense in building 1 and ER-X in building 2. (but those depend on # of users, etc.)

But I wouldn’t use a “consumer” router in ether building.

1 Like

Wow, thanks fo the detailed response @BuckeyeNet. I’ll be looking up more information about this configuration over the weekend as well.