Port Forwarding question

Hello all. I’m new to this and I have a question: I have a FreeNAS install on a garage server. In that install I have SSH on, allowing password authentication, and set to port 8080. I’ve port forwarded 8080 to the IP for my FreeNAS on my modem. I also set up a firewall rule on the modem to allow in and out on port 8080. I can ssh into FreeNAS from my local computer using Putty. But, if I use a remote computer and try using the ip of my modem (checked at whatismyip.com) with :8080 appended I get nothing.

So, what am I doing wrong?

Did you create a NAT for this? Also, it is NOT a good idea to allow access to internal systems such as your NAS via a NAT/ACL. I highly recommend you setup remote access VPN (with MFA) and then access your NAS that way.

In my modem configuration NAT has two choices: enabled or disabled. There doesn’t appear to be anything to “set up.” I’ve been looking at VPNs but I’m massively cheap and doing this mostly just for access to home files. Are there decent free options available that have a good setup guide?

Use OpenVPN on a pfSense. That would be free. If you put your modem in bridge mode, then you can pass all traffic to the pfSense on it’s outside interface.

I hope this doesn’t turn out to be as dumb as it might be, but my FreeNAS server connects to my home network through a wireless access point. Would that make a difference in the port forwarding on the modem? In other words, do I need to forward the modem to the access point and the access point to the server? Thanks in advance for not eye-rolling or face-palming too hard.

Well, yep, I can save you all the trouble of telling me that. It is exactly that dumb. I went and got a long Cat5, plugged my server directly into my modem, and “poof!” connected straight through. Now all I have to do is figure out how to get through my access point. My wife is not overly fond of a cable running through 3 rooms of the house.