Pop_OS or Parrot Home edition

Hi,
Hope I am posting at the right place. I am a beginner in IT, and looking for an advice. I am an ex-pilot, and I’ve been using Windows as a user, but would like to move to Linux.

This forum and Tom’s videos are helping me a lot to secure my home network and learn. Thank you all.

Tom made several videos about Pop_OS, but I guess it requires some IT knowledge. I was thinking of Parrot Os Home edition.

Would appreciate your thoughts. Thank you.

JJ

Pop_OS is going to be a lot easier and much more stable to get started with.

Having also been on Windows mostly, I played around with the Raspberry Pi this lead to Ubuntu Mate, which runs quite well on the Pi. Then I moved to Debian in headless mode for servers running on Proxmox. On my laptop, I use Linux Mint which basically recognised most of my Thinkpad but not the light. It has been mostly ok, takes time to work out how to do things but can be eventually sussed out. I’d suggest running a virtual machine and just load up various Linux distributions, see what takes your fancy. You can also load up an ISO on a USB stick and run it from that too.

Hi,
Thanks. I think I meant to say Parrot_OS for home.

Just my two cents – take it for what its worth. When I was a beginner with linux I had to (and still) do a lot of reading. There is ample information regarding Ubuntu. That’s probably where I would start. The information for Ubuntu is going to be relevant 99% of the time to PopOS but there are minor differences in a few things. Linux Mint is also not a bad one to try, however for some reason some of the “quality” of answers I’ve found on their forums isn’t all that great. It’s a little hit and miss. Good luck wherever you start and have fun with it.