Please help me with my dream home network setup

I’m a techy, geeky person, but have never had my own space to really plan my networking. I’m also a minimalist (a vague term for almost everything) and don’t want to spend or have more than I actually need. I’ve already networked several floors and a garden area with UniFi and know how to use it, and I’ve build my own cables, PCs, etc. All in all, I’m far from an expert, but I know enough that home networking can be so much nicer with a little effort (and money). I also hate the fact that my ISP multi-function device (‘router’) doesn’t get timely security updates.

I want to repeat myself that I am between noob and expert. So I want to lay out some ideas and questions so that more experienced forum members can tell me if my plans are good or bad.

My current situation is that I live with my family on two continents. I would like to share files safely between us. I have a ton of files and a solution where all family pictures, videos and media files are stored at one location sounds fantastic. I have used Synology a bit but for planning my new setup, I have been looking at TrueNAS Core and would like to build my own NAS box. Building a PC is not difficult (and I have done it several times). However, before I build a TrueNAS Core system (the free community edition), I’d like to know the best way to make it externally accessible in a secure manner.

You may see that I want a bit more than just good WiFi. My focus is on privacy and security, and I don’t like vendor systems with registration which phone home all the time. To be flexible with my router settings and also get updates quickly, I want to stick my nose into pfSense. It doesn’t seem too complicated and seems like the perfect product for an open source enthusiast. What hardware would you recommend? The Netgate devices? I need to route 1Gbps (both directions) and also would like to run my own VPN for default encrypted connections.