Planning New TrueNAS Server

Hey all! I’m planning a new TrueNAS server for me and my extended family, hoping to get some guidance on my hardware/infrastructure.

My Background

I’ve built personal computers for friends and family for the past 15 years, have a degree in Software Engineering, and work as a Software Engineer. I’m familiar with most Server Infrastructure concepts, as well as networking, but I’m by no means an expert. Put me slightly above novice on the experience chart. :wink:

Goals and requirements

• The primary use case for this is to have a “cloud” storage solution for me and my family.
    • Most likely this will be achieved with a NextCloud plugin on the NAS.
    • We must be able to accommodate a “home” folder for each user.
    • We must be able to accommodate a shared “family” folder for each family unit.
    • We must be able to accommodate a shared “everyone” folder.
    • This data must have a high level of resiliency
  • A secondary use case is to have a “cloud” media server.
    • Most likely this will be achieved with a Plex plugin on the NAS
    • This data does not have a strict requirement on resiliency, but it is a nice to have
  • I don’t plan on having dedicated hardware for networking, so this NAS will also need to host the reverse proxy.

Hardware Selection

• Case: Fractal Design Define R5
    • 8 drives
    • Good airflow
  • Motherboard: SuperMicro MBD-X11SCA-F-O
    • 8 SATA drives without an additional controller
    • 2x M.2 interface
    • ECC Memory
    • IPMI
  • Processor: Intel Xeon E-2236
    • HyperThreading
  • RAM: 4x Crucial 16GB DDR4 SDRAM ECC @ 2666
    • ECC Memory
  • PSU: Seasonic FOCUS GX-550W PSU
    • Reliable
    • Supports up to 9 SATA devices without splitters
  • SSD: 2x Crucial P2 250GB M.2 SSD
    • Cheap
    • M.2 interface
  • HDD: 9x WD Red Plus 6TB HDD
    • Reliable
    • Affordable
  • Miscellaneous:
    • Cooler Master Hyper 212 CPU Cooler
    • 2x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 140mm PWM Fan