pfSense second interface and Unifi switch

I searched the forums and wasn’t able to find any issues like the one I am having.

I have been running pfSense with just one interface with pfBlocker running and I have been really happy with it. So, I decided why not set up the wifi on a separate interface after watching Tom’s video. So, I set up the second interface, laptop connects to it just fine. However, as soon as I connect the unifi switch nothing happens. No network connection (wifi is still up but no says no internet connection). Am I missing a setting in the unifi widget? The other issue is the controller but I’ll have to do that after I get this figured out. I am not a network engineer, just some guy messing around with networking.

A variation of this was discussed in another thread PfSense install with VLANs and routing between networks

Most people would plug the access point into the switch and not the router, that requires less configuration, give it a go and see if it works.

I knew I left out a bunch of details, sorry. I have the AP plugged into the switch. I then go from opt1 to the switch. At that point no internet connection. I can’t ping it either. I have set up the rules to allow access via ip4 and 6 and the rule that blocks access to LAN. I’ll look at the VLAN thread. Thanks!

Well you have the WAN port to your modem, your LAN port you have plugged into your switch which works.

If you now use OPT1 as a 2nd LAN port then basically you have a 2nd LAN which is not the same as your 1st LAN which your switch is configured for.

Don’t bother with the other thread if you have your AP plugged into your switch.

Or are you saying you have the WAN, OPT1, switch and when you plug in your AP nothing works ?