pfSense newbie - single website giving me DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN

Hi there!

Total pfSense (and generally networking) newbie here. I recently upgraded from a crappy zyxel router to running pfSense on a PC put together from some old parts I had at home. Everything so far has been working really well, except one weird issue: A single website, https://euipo.europa.eu/, is giving me the DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN error in Chrome. Other browsers have issues too, eg. FF says “We can’t connect to the server at euipo.europa.eu.” etc. I get the issue on any machine on my LAN, even my phone, but if I turn off the WiFi on the phone and use the cellular connection I can access the page just fine. So it seems there is a problem with my pfSense setup. So far this is the only website giving me this error.

Doing a DNS Lookup in the pfSense web configurator to “euipo.europa.eu” returns the IP just fine, ie. 109.232.208.177, so I suspect it has something to do with the firewall. Initially I had pfBlockerNG installed and I was pretty sure that was the problem but I couldn’t figure it out so I finally restored the whole system to factory defaults and I am still getting the same error.

This is not the end of the world for me, but I am a bit worried I have some incorrect config somewhere which will bite me later unless fixed. I have tried to check every conceivable log for errors but nothing seems to give me any hints on where the problem is.

Ideas, or suggestions on where to start looking?

Thanks a lot!

I’m not gonna test that URL just in case it’s dodgy !

You don’t need to do a full reset, you can take back and restore as you are testing out your config.

Never encountered your issue but it sounds like DNS related …

perhaps have a look at Troubleshooting — Troubleshooting DNS Resolution Issues | pfSense Documentation

Could also be the DNS service you are using, switch over to say Quad9 or google.