pfSense & DD-WRT Dumb AP

Hello,

I’ve got a TP-Link Archer C9 wireless router running DD-WRT and am currently using it as a dumb AP on my network. I would like to have it issue out IP addresses via DHCP for any wireless clients and be on a separate VLAN. I would like to be able to ping/access the wireless clients but not have them reach my other network. My problem is I’m not sure how to hook this all up in pfSense (and technically DD-WRT but I don’t expect support for that here, I’ll do my own research to sort that out :)) I’m a real pfSense/Networking noob so forgive me if this is a nonsensical request.

Current Setup:
pfSense running DHCP @ 192.168.1.1

DD-WRT with DHCP disabled @ 192.168.1.2

What I’m looking to achieve:
pfSense running DHCP @ 192.168.1.1 handing out IP addresses for any LAN connected devices on 192.168.1.* range

DD-WRT running DHCP @ 192.168.1.2 handing out IP addresses for any Wireless connected devices on 10.0.0.* IP range

Thank you in advance for any help!

Yeah this should be possible. Tom has a great video on something very similar located here.

The way I would do it is

1. Create the VLAN for your 10.x.x.x network with DHCP configured on pfsense
  2. Statically assign the AP on you management network to the IP (192.168.1.2)
  3. Create the SSID network on your AP to have the VLAN tag of 10.x.x.x network you created in pfsense

aaaaaaaaaaaaand BAM! You should be good to go.

Is the router in some type of bridge mode? I think the easiest solution would be to put it in a bridge mode and have pf sense give out the dhcp. (Mainly to keep in one spot) I say this because if the wan ip of the router is 192.168.1.2 and the router hands out 10.xx ips you are not really on a vlan. That is unless ddwrt can use the 192. Address as a management only address. In the config you sites the 192. Address would most likely be reachable from the Wifi which if I am reading correct is not desired.