pfSense and connecting to network

Hey everyone

I am totally new to pfSense and was looking for some advice. I have recently received a Netgate XG-7100-1U and am looking to integrate this in to my network. Currently I have the following hardware:

• Netgate XG-7100-1U
  • Netgear XS708T (10g managed switch)
  • Unifi AP AC HD (x2)
  • Unifi Cloud Key Gen 2
  • Unifi Switch (US-16-150w)
  • FreeNAS running on 4U Supermicro chassis

I was going to connect my devices:

Internet -> pfSense -> Netgear XS708t -> Unifi US-16-150w

I am wanting the FreeNAS server along with 3 computers connected to the Netgear (as all have 10g Intel nics) and the 2 Unifi AP’s connected to the Unifi US-16-150w switch (as this has PoE). However, I would like the FreeNAS server to be available to wireless clients that will be connected to the Unifi AP’s (mobile phones/tablets/laptops/Apple TV). I was planning on having pfSense do all the DHCP duties.

Is it ok to daisy chain both switches together or should I place them on separate ports of the pfSense (eth2 & eth3)?

I don’t think I will need VLANs as I want all devices to communicate with each other.

Many thanks!

That setup should work fine. Switches can be daisy chained even if they are different brands. If in the future you want to setup VLANS, all those devices support it but you will to configure each device (pfsense, Netgear, UniFi) will have to be configured individually to match settings.

Thanks for the reply. If I had separate VLANs, all devices could still communicate with each other? Also, would I connect say the Netgear to eth2 and Ubiquiti to eth3?

With the VLANs, this would have to be set within pfSense and individually on each switch?

Btw, love the YouTube videos. Been subscribed for a while now :slight_smile:

Considering you have a pfSense box and managed switches, why would you not use VLANs? VLANs help segregate traffic and heighten the security of your network.