pfSense and ATT fiber modem ip passthrough

Hi all-
Hope you are well. I just got ATT 1gig fiber installed. I’ve set the ATT modem to ip passthrough mode and plugged it in to my wan pfSense box…All is working fine, just want help clarifying few things…

1. Should I be able to access the ATT modem’s web landing page once it is connected to pfsnese? If not, should a firewall rule be created in pfSense to block access to the ATT router landing page? Blocking the modem’s device ip address?

2. Should pfsense WAN be getting a public ip address? Is the 107.XXX.XXX.XXX ip range consider a public ip? I have limited knowledge on ip addressing, but I believe this will fall into a class A Public IP Range: 1.0.0.0 to 127.0.0.0. Correct?
    I would appreciate any advice you can provide. Have a great weekend! Thank you!

I am not sure if you will be able to access the page, I rarely setup an consumer AT&T modems.

Here is a list of private networks so you can gain a better understanding of them.

Yes you will be able to access the att modem web page. Don’t forget to turn off the att firewall, all traffic shaping and anything else crazy that box likes to do. If you have the BGW210 box then you would be able to extract the certs and get rid of the modem in the connection path all together. I do this with mine and my att modem sits in the closet. The Pfsense Negotiates everything and gets it’s public up without issue.

You can access the ATT modem landing page, if you define a static route.

You don’t want to block the IP address of the modem. Anything configuration related is protected with a device access code.

With the modem in passthrough mode, pfSense should get a public IP address.

Tom, thanks for replying…I appreciate it.