Patch Panel Rewire Recommendations/Documentation

Hello fine people,

I have been tasked with rewiring ~13 racks of various sizes and complexities. Some may require only slight cable management, while others will likely require a full tear down and rebuild.

I’m fairly new to rack management so I’m looking for three things:

1: Any recommendations on best procedure for moving hardware and or cables within the rack.

2: How best to document which cables go where and how devices are connected to each other.

3: Any cable management or organization tips and tricks.

Any feedback is appreciated.

I’ve done a fair few in my time. Mostly schools. Are you sitting comfortably?, this is a bit of a long one!

Are you going to have to do it live or with downtime?

Either way, Buy some RackStuds, thank me later.

I tend to start by labelling each cab A, B, C, AA, AB, then label each patch panel 01, 02, 03
Then each outlet becomes AA-01-nn where nn is the port number on that particular panel. If there isnt a clear and consistent numbering scheme I’d probably start there. Start a google sheet with Cab, Panel, Patch, type, end, test, notes

Test each cable as you go and mark any that fail for remedial work (and for “it wasn’t me it was like that when I started” ). Check that the backs of the patch panels are secure so you don’t disconnect stuff if you move it.

If you need to do it live then make sure you point out that there is always a chance you might knock something and take it down by accident. Because you will.

Grab a load of loooong (5m) patch cables (colour doesn’t matter at this point) some 4/6/8 gang power strips and some C13/C14 extension cables.