Open source firewalls and Enterprise

I’m new to pfsense and opnsense projects. I was introduced to them by a work colleague who said if I was looking forward to home projects start by getting rid of my asus router. Fast forward a year and I’m rocking pfsense at my home with additional deployments at friends houses managing various home lab projects for them as well as network monitoring w/ zabbix.

The point of this this post is that I do see viability for open source firewalls in a large enterprise particularly in the Fintech space where I am currently. From everyone’s experience, do we find that pfsense for example could find a home in a large enterprise that already has Juniper SRXs and Palos? Granted no one firewall is supreme but for a lot of our VPN concentrators I see no reason why we couldn’t get rid of an expensive SRX and put in place a pfsense. Barely a quarter of the price with support included.
The grand prize would be to replace Palo Alto’s. Is there a feature similar to App-ID?
I’m in a position to influence and change design so feedback is very important. Tell me pros vs cons of deploying a Netgate(or white box). Are there scalability concerns? I noticed a lack of APIs so I am concerned about the ability to automate.

2 Likes

When you need a stateful firewall with some ability for more in depth firewall rules, sure PFSense is great. Any place you need just a router, its great. But for a company that needs to pass PCI and SOX at a Fortune 500 level, no way will something that doesn’t have everything Palo et. al. offer suffice.

Lots of banks use PFSense, you can tell from what’s in their job postings. But in front of the actual servers, and often between them as well, is going to be a “Next-Gen Firewall” or “Unified Threat Management” firewall.