Noob needs to know about swapping larger disks into FreeNAS

Hi. Complete FreeNAS noob here. I built 2 machines using old motherboards and PC cases. Neither box holds more than 2 physical drives.

The first used two 500GB drives just so I could learn and get FreeNas working. The intention is that it will be my always on file server and backup machine for my PC. It’s been up and working and is great, but the disks are small.

The second machine has 4TB drives and it’s ONLY purpose is to back up the first machine. I turn it on once or twice a week, do a replication task, and it’s working great.

I bought 2 more 4TB drives which I want to put in the first machine. Can someone point me toward the accepted best way to do this? Do I fail one of the existing drives, remove it physically, put in a 4TB drive and then it rebuilds itself, and then do that again with the other 500GB drive, and when it’s done I have a 4TB pool, or do I have to do something more complicated?

Any pointers to how to do this are much appreciated.

Thanks

I have never done any testing but I have heard there is a way to do it by replacing all the drives in the pools. If no one here has an answer try their forums TrueNAS Community

Thanks for the reply. Most the advise there is to follow the Guide which says you can fail a drive and replace it with the same size or larger. What it doesn’t seem to say is once all the drives are replaced, in my case just 2 drives, will the pool use all the new disk space.

Being that machine #2 is fully backing up (I think, I think, I really should test somehow) machine #1 I don’t think I have much risk of losing anything but I haven’t found a definitive answer yet.

Again, thanks for the reply.

1 Like

I’ve done this a few times… Mark the drive as offline, pull it out, install the new drive, refresh the drives so it sees the new drive, replace the “failed” drive and wait for it to resilver.