Newbie to TrueNas (LAGG and Speed)

I’m a complete newbie to this… I’ve used Windows most of my life and decide to get into building a NAS server for media, data, etc. The videos have been helpful, but I’m clearly lost… I got 3 LAN ports in the NAS… The web connection and the other 2 set up as LAGG… I know that I won’t get double the speed by combining two, but I having trouble with data transfer between Windows 10 to the TrueNAS… I’m averaging about 40MB/s. I have tried a few changes in Windows to increase it, but with no success… I don’t know if its something the NAS or my Windows… (Really wish there was a course that I could take in all this lol) Any help would be appreciative… I have over 30TB to move over and I would like to finish before the next decade…lol

1 Like

Hello,

without more information, I’m afraid I don’t have much of an answer for you. what hardware are you running in this system. how many drives, what are they in? CPU and ram does play a role but should matter a whole lot at gigabit speeds.

You DO NOT get double the speed by using LAGG. When using LAGG you have a wider path which will allow multiple streams to go at the aggregate speed of the LAGG but any single stream such as a SMB share to a single computer can not exceed the speed of the individual links that make up the LAGG.

Client
AMD RYZEN 7 3700X
XPG Spectrix D41 RGB 3600MHz 16GB (2x8GB) CL18
GIGABYTE X570 AORUS ELITE WIFI
Sabrent 500GB Rocket Nvme PCIe 4.0 M.2 2280
Western Digital WD2002FAEX 2TB Hard Drive

Windows 10 Professional Version 20H2

Dual Intel NIC Cards (One Intergrated & One Add-on) Static Link Aggregation

Server
AMD A10-7890K
Patriot 16GB(2x8GB) Viper III DDR3 1866MHz CL10
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88X-UP4
Western Digital 500GB Blue
3x Western Digital 10TB
Western Digital 6TB
Western Digital 5TB
Western Digital 4TB
Western Digital 3TB [NAS]

Will be adding once data has been transferred
Western Digital 14TB
Western Digital 18TB

TrueNAS-12.0-RELEASE

Realtek NIC (Intergrated)