New VM storage area on a new Truenas

Hey gurus

I’d like to start a discussion on a project I’m facing to try and get some directional advice before I dive straight in.

Some things you should know before we start.

• I have zero experience with Truenas
  • The hardware I have is fixed (because it’s free)
  • I’m not adverse to trying anything
  • the end result will be used in production

Scenario
I have a Windows 2016 data center Hyper-V running on a DL380 G8 with 96gb memory, it has 5 VMs running on local storage which is now almost full. The company has need to introduce more VMs, as well as an ever expanding file server contents.

New hardware
Enter my newly acquired DL380 G10 12 bay 3.5" server, Intel Xeon silver edition 8 core, 16gb ram. This has 2 bays at the rear with 2x 300gb sas drives, and 12 bays at the front with 9x 8tb DS SAS drives.

What I’ve played with so far
I’ve run the Truenas installation quite a few times over the past day or so, and the first problem I’ve run in to is the hardware controller. I don’t appear to be able to present the disks to Truenas without creating RAID0 logical drives on each of the disks, once that’s done they appear in Truenas as useable. I’m pretty sure this is not right but seems to work. The controller is a P420i and try as I might I can’t seem to get it to go in to HBA which is what most forum posts suggest.

Past this I’ve played with creating and destroying zpools, NFS shares and iscsi targets but nothing major.

I’ve searched around on the internet and iscsi target seems to be the defacto go to for VM storage, but I’d also like some suggestions from everyone on how to best setup for …

A) VM Storage
B) SMB shares

I’d love some thoughts with this project, and will in the end (once I’m happy) be placed in to a live environment, and by happy I mean once I’ve learned it inside and out so I can safely support it.

So I guess that’s it. Happy to answer any questions and have a good discussion on do’s and don’ts.