Netgate 3100 or Edgerouter 4 for gigabit internet routing?

I’m a retired IT pro for over a decade now, and recently decided I’m tired of consumer routers that don’t do what I want (I’m looking at you, Asus!). I miss the days of having control over my network.

I’d like to put a good router between my cable modem (gigabit internet) and Asus XT8 mesh kit (will be put in AP mode) that’ll let me do what I want (like route IPv6 DNS queries directly to my own local server, and setup multiple VLANs). Whatever I get needs to have low power requirements, solid IPv6, and good firewall support. And I’d prefer something that’ll be well supported with software updates for years to come.

I’m currently looking at the Edgerouter 4 or Netgate 3100. I’m a big fan of open source, so pfsense is looking really sweet at the moment, if only it didn’t cost twice as much. I’m used to a command line, but wouldn’t mind learning a new GUI.

What do you think? Is it worth paying twice as much for the Netgate? Or would the ER-4 be better in this case?

As a bonus question, is there something else I should be considering? I was looking at a lower end Netgate, but they don’t appear to handle gigabit very well.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Take a look at https://protectli.com/ I think they make decent boxes.

I’ve seen Protectli mentioned before. Being about the same price as a Netgate appliance, do they offer something more?

I think the Protecli offer more of everything when compared like for like against Netgate devices at the same price point.

There are other similar chinese boxes out there, I have one, which can run pfSense very well.

I don’t have even 100mbps at home, so not sure it can really handle it, but take a look at a used HP T620Plus, can normally get them for around $150usd with a 2 or 4 port Intel NIC installed. Add in your software of choice and give it a try.