Need some Advice on Setup

Hi -

Well I have been fortunate to receive 6 month old 48 900GB 2.5" drives and 18 14TB Drives from a friend who’s company went out of business.

I have been using QNAP devices internally at home to house our Plex, but have been looking to move to something a different. But I’m stuck between Option #1 - running a Host (PC or MAC) running Plex Server with a few direct attached storage arrays (approx 210TB) or Option #2 - configuring a host running TrueNas and adding storage arrays to that box. Now I’ve never used TrueNas before and I’ve got to learn about Jails and other unique terminologies. So there is a bias of choosing option #1 because of familiarity, but I’m looking for a long term solution.

I watched a few videos and thought maybe I should pose the question to the forum for advice.

I have a R730xd currently and Mac Desktop and was thinking about adding some Dell MD1220’s units and some MD1000 for the 3.5" drives but I learned those are only 3GB/s so I’m also looking for suggestions on a good box for the 3.5 drives.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

If you want to use it as a storage server then TrueNAS is great for that, but the first question is does that system allow for the drives to be passed through to the OS or is it only acting as a raid controller? TrueNAS and other ZFS based systems require direct access to the drives.

2 Likes

Well for the R730xd potential setup I was thinking of using 2 - LSI SAS9300-8e that I have to connect the drives to it, but I’m not sure if that card will support the 24 drives in the R730xd. I assume I’d be able to connect the MD1220 units via the External SAS connections. Also assuming this would work whether I go with TrueNas or Windows given it would be the same hardware correct?