My current state with Networking

Greetings everyone!

I’m a new member here on the forums, been following Lawrence Systems since I started with my homelab two years ago. I’ve found a lot of useful information on the Youtube page, it has been quite helpful in my journey. So, as I mentioned, I started homelabbing two or so years ago. I enrolled in college courses around that time, and am in my last class before I graduate in December. Sadly, most college courses have been virtual since the pandemic. I would say that I am mostly self-taught, and have been trying to learn as much as I can. I do know a good amount of knowledge, however, lately, I feel like I don’t know anything. I have great background knowledge of some of the material I learned in class, however, some things I have not had time to get hands-on with.

For example, I know subnetting, VLANs, and everything that goes along with that is super important to know. However, every time I come across them on my home network I get lost in the sauce. I always try to research or find some sort of help through communities. I just feel like I don’t know anything, and I will soon be looking to apply for jobs once I graduate. I think this could possibly be a confidence issue, but I don’t have any experience in the field, so I’m not 100% sure. When I first started, I wanted to teach myself Linux, then messed around with web servers, firewalls, etc. So, my journey has just been learning and finding something new and trying to learn that.