MSP for solopreneurs and very small companies

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

First of all, I have to say that I’m happy I found LTS’s Youtube Channel and this forum ! Thanks a lot for all the content and discussions we have. :+1:

As Tom says on his website, I totally agree with this idea of “people focused” services. I would love to get people to view technology as it is : something that should brighten their day and help them achieve what they want smoothly, not something that gives them headaches every day of the week.

I don’t know how people see IT in the US and other countries in the world, but where I live (New Caledonia), most people have the “break and fix” mentality, which prevents them from enjoying their tools to the fullest.

After working for a company for 10 years (ISP Hotline + Helpdesk, onsite and remote support, among other things), I have been working solo for the past seven years. I am on the verge of getting a second person onboard but of course, revenues need to grow first ! :sweat_smile:

I am trying to get my actual customer base to switch to an MSP model, but most of them don’t see the point. Of course, they are not aware of all the work that has to be done in the shadows, and as long as their computers work, they feel like there’s no need to pay for anything. I still have to find the right way to explain how much it would benefit them all year long.

There’s also “competition” from huge companies that cut their prices dramatically in order to kill the smaller companies, and “tech savvys” (like the brother or cousin who knows a thing or two about computers).

There are a little less than 300 000 people in New Caledonia, that would make around 100 000 people in the workforce, and 80% of the companies are solopreneurs.