Installation Pfsense on HP T620 +

Hi complete newbie here,

I been watching the excellent video on networking & pfSense which is now loaded on HPT620+ thru bridge mode on router thru a switch . After trying out on a VM in unRaid . Installation was good until i tried to connect unraid to pfsense . The unRaid server is running HA (IOT)& cameras running on network 192.168.0.XXXX running fine. I am unable to find a solution to transfer the IP’s to the pfsense router 192.168.1.xxxxx.

I assume that i have to connect directly to modem /router for pfsense to allocate IP?
Or is there another way so that i do not lose my configuration for the various IOT etc.

I appreciate that this may be a stupid question, but any advice would be appreciated.

You can change the LAN IP of the pfsense to match your current network, you can do this during the install or it can be done after, just remember when doing it after you will also need to change the DHCP range.

Thanks for prompt reply, i received an error IPv4 192.168.x.xx/24 is being used by or overlaps with Wan 192.168.x.xx/24, The reason being is that this is how i access my router. I did say i was newbie so i must be missing something.

Thanks in advance

Ideally the pfsense should have the WAN bridged to the ISP provided devices and everything should be downstream of that.

Why are you obscuring private IP ranges? This only makes it unnecessarily difficult for us to provide detailed help.

Anyways, as Tom already said, the modem doesn’t have to be in the same subnet as your LAN network in order to be reachable. Matter of fact, many cable modems are automatically switching to an IP in a different subnet, e.g 192.168.100.1, after you turn on bridge mode, exactly for this reason, to avoid IP conflicts like that. If yours doesn’t do that, the easiest way would be to leave it on it’s default IP, e.g. 192.168.1.1, and change the subnet of your LAN to another subnet, e.g 192.168.10.0/24 in pfSense.