I suck at VLANs, part I

Hey guys I am trying to setup some VLANs with pfSense and my TP-Link managed T1600G-52PS switch. I am unable to get a DHCP IP address when connecting my computer to the switch. It looks like the device can’t talk to pfSense.

However, I can confirm that the pfSense side of things works 100% because I am able to obtain a VLAN subnet IP address via DHCP when connecting my computer directly into the LAN port of my pfSense.

Clearly, I am doing something wrong on the switch side. And since I don’t know what I’m doing, I’m not surprised it’s not working. :joy:

I’d appreciate some help if anyone’s game…

pfSense: 10.48.0.1
VLAN 30: 10.48.30.1/24 (DHCP server enabled on pfSense) – VoIP phones go on this VLAN

Switch (10.48.0.11):
Port 1: trunk to pfSense LAN
Port 3: I want all traffic going through this port to have VLAN 30 added to its packets.

As the title says, I suck at VLANs and this is my first time doing it. My understanding is that:

• I should UNTAG port 1 (trunk) for VLAN 30
  • I should TAG port 3 for VLAN 30
  • I should set port 3 PVID to 30
  • I shouldn’t set up VLANs on the phones themselves. Tagging the ports on the switch is enough.

For good measure, since it’s VOIP traffic, I also did the following in QOS:

• Enabled “Voice VLAN” and set it to 30, with a priority of 5
  • Enabled “Voice VLAN” on all my VLAN 30 ports

What did I do wrong?

Here are some screenshots of what I configured on the switch: https://imgur.com/a/eoyLrfH

Well perhaps I suck slightly less at vlans than you so maybe I can offer some insights on how I approached it as it works :slight_smile:

Firstly I have a multi-NIC pfsense box going to a 48 port Netgear switch. There is a configured LAN port but I don’t use it, though I could just plug into the box and access pfsense if required.