How to run pfsense and freenas on one hardware via VM

Hello lawrence and other users, so i believe yesterday i asked this question on your Live feed on your youtube channel, although you gave a brief short answer i did not understand. Kindly elaborate.I would like to run pfsense and freenas on one hardware(one computer) but since i have never tried it before i need advice. Currently i am running pfsense independently from freenas(2 seperate computers).This is taking too much space on my cabinet and need an intergration on the two on one hardware.Is this possible? and if so, then what type of hardware specs would i need so that i do not run into issues with them? Thank you

You could make this work by loading XCP-NG https://youtu.be/bG5enpij0e8 and then configuring pass through for FreeNAS for the drives to work properly, here is a guide https://www.zerodispersion.com/xenserver-whole-disk-passthrough/ and then you would have to setup pfsense https://youtu.be/PTySV3ziPws

2 Likes

You can also install FreeNAS directly onto the box, then set-up pfSense as a VM inside of FreeNAS as it supports VM’s, although I’m not sure how well the VM functionality works in FreeNAS as I never used it that way.
There seems to be a consensus among the devs and veteran users on the FreeNAS forums that it is a very bad idea to virtualise FreeNAS in production and I am inclined to believe them, so this way you avoid virtualising FreeNAS.
You will ideally still need to pass-through the network cards you plan to use in pfSense. For proper pass-though your hardware needs to support VT-D (or IOMMU for AMD)

As for the spec. it really depends on the usage you are expecting. For very light usage, minimum for FreeNAS is a Multicore CPU with 8GB RAM and a Single-core with 512 RAM for pfSense, although I wouldn’t expect much from that set-up.
I suggest check the FreeNAS and pfSense forums for the spec required for your usage.